The interconnected system of power lines and related equipment that delivers high-voltage electricity from power generating stations to substations, where it is transformed to a lower voltage for distribution to consumers. In the 48 lower states, the grid is comprised of three regional interconnected systems: the Eastern Interconnection, Western Interconnection, and Texas Interconnection; there is no single “national” grid. Alaska has separate Railbelt and Southeast Alaska grids, whereas Hawaii has island-based independent grids.

Prev Story: Distributed Generation Next Story: High-voltage Transmission Lines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *